Personal Objectives

Nosing about on Twitter this morning I noticed that some people have posted quite specific goals about their objectives for taking part in this course. I don’t want to make things too specific, mostly due to the fact that my expectations are quite fuzzy at this point. However, I do have some general aims:

  • evaluate if participation in a mooc is beneficial for me professionally
  • review my personal learning network, and hopefully learn from others about tools and networking
  • write up the experience as a piece of personal research, no matter what the outcomes
  • consider the possibility of creating a sooc (small online open course)

That’s enough for a start.

2 Responses to “Personal Objectives”


  1. 1 Sally Pardue September 16, 2011 at 5:22 am

    your first bullet point is exactly why I decided to try the Change MOOC, that and needing more engaged and constructive feedback from like-minded explorers than my patient and well-meaning friends who nod and smile, saying “interesting…” while they seek a way out of my overly energetic explanation of a unique connection between odd sources 🙂

    • 2 dmaclean2011 September 16, 2011 at 10:38 pm

      Sally, I know exactly what you mean. I’ve discussed it with maybe a dozen people. Some go dead stare, some are interested, one or two might sign up. Interesting comment on Twitter this morning ‘those who could benefit most from the experience probably won’t be there’. Unfortunately true, I think. Looking forward to it, but some serious discipline required in terms of focus and filtering.


Leave a comment